New Respect for Bloggers

I have a real respect for consistent bloggers. Even those whose blogs I would never read. After a false start at this nearly 2 years ago, I’m trying again. I felt really bad about starting something and then abandoning the project totally. But I have now seen enough abandoned blogs to understand that I’m not the only one with good intentions who can’t keep up. A person does have to sleep, and keep family obligations, plus work for a living.

I check a number of blogs on a fairly regular basis. Most of them are recipe sites because I like to cook (and sometimes I just like to collect recipes).  This viewing happens mostly in the winter, when there is time. During the growing season there just is not much  in-front-of-the-computer time, because there are no employees here on our small organic farm.  Computer time  is reserved for communicating with shareholders (we have a small CSA) and marketing (keeping up with our products and our orders through csafarmersmarket.com).

The recipe search was originally intended to benefit our CSA by passing the recipes along to the shareholders so they weren’t in the dark about how to prepare some of the vegetables we grow. But time to pass recipes and hints along to shareholders is in short supply during the growing season, too. When we started the CSA (Community Supported Agriculture, if you don’t know) I put out a weekly newsletter with all kinds of information. As the CSA grew the newsletter came out less frequently until I pretty much abandoned it.

So I’m hoping to keep up with this blog to replace that newsletter for shareholders and other customers. wish me luck.

Leave a comment